Tai highlights OECD analysis of government support

US Trade Representative Katherine Tai highlighted an OECD analysis of the effects of anti-competitive government support.

Tai met with OECD Secretary General Mathias Cormann on Wednesday.

At that meeting, Ella Tai congratulated Cormann on his recent appointment to head the OECD and expressed her hope that the United States and the OECD can continue to work together to achieve shared goals.

According to a USTR statement, Tai thanked Cormann for the OECD analysis detailing the effects of anti-competitive government support on international markets and companies.

“Tai hopes that the OECD’s Trade Committee and Steel Committee will continue this work and, in general, she believes that the Trade Committee is an important multilateral forum for international trade deliberations,” the statement added.

Government support

Tai welcomed the OECD’s leadership in international tax reform, noting that the coordinated elimination of taxes on existing digital services is an important component of the OECD/G20 agreement.

In addition, she noted the United States ‘focus on protecting workers’ rights and promoting internationally recognized labor rights to achieve inclusive and equitable growth.

The two agreed to continue these talks during the next OECD Ministerial Council meeting in October.

The OECD is a forum where the governments of 37 democracies work together to address the economic, social and environmental challenges of globalization.

Likewise, the OECD is at the forefront of efforts to understand and help governments respond to new developments and concerns, such as corporate governance, the information economy, and the challenges of aging populations.

The Organization provides an environment in which governments can compare political experiences, seek answers to common problems, identify good practices, and work to coordinate national and international policies.

Its member countries are: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Latvia , Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States. The European Commission participates in the work of the OECD.


Mostrar más
Botón volver arriba
A %d blogueros les gusta esto: